City-block sized Asteroid to approach Earth on July 22

Posted By on July 22, 2012

Washington: An asteroid the size of a city block, will make its close approach to Earth Sunday evening (July 22) — just 39 days after newly discovered asteroid 2012 LZ1 paid an unexpected visit to Earth.

Slooh Space Camera will cover its near-approach live on http://www.slooh.com, free to the public, starting at 4:30 p.m. PDT / 7:30 p.m. EDT / 23:30 UTC — accompanied by real-time discussions by Slooh’s Patrick Paolucci and Astronomy magazine columnist Bob Berman.

Discovered by Lincoln Near Earth Asteroid Research (LINEAR), NEA (near-Earth asteroid) 2002 AM31 is estimated to be 620 m to 1.4 km (2,000 to 4,500 ft wide) and will pass within 14 times the Moon’s distance from our planet.

Due to its size and proximity to Earth, 2002 AM31 qualifies as a near-Earth object as it’s more than 500 feet wide and within 4.65 million miles of Earth. [full story..]

Hits: 0